top of page

Review week is all fun and games!


Some family names from my French and Spanish classes on display

We have an entire review week at my school before exam week. I always dread it because I feel that the students sometimes check out, no matter how much they need to review or how student centered I make the activities. Of course they love Kahoot, Quizlet live, Quizizz, and games. So this year, I wondered how to make the writing, speaking, and listening practices all as important to the students as the games. And so the review week game was born! I am pleased with it so far. I placed students into families, each class has its own set of names: Trujillo, Carreño, Perez, Suarez, De la Mancha, Bataclan, Francisco, Molera, etc. The names are taped to the wall around the room to indicate where the families sit and the families can earn points as each team member performs well on homework, speaking practice, etc. For a specific example, today in class, students earned points for each page they completed of their review packet, for each speaking prompt they showed that they prepared for, for each Quizizz they received a 80% or higher on, and for each Quizlet live game their time won.

This was an easy thing to do with an elementary understanding of spread sheets. I just listed the family names, added the students names next to the family name and then created columns for activities that earn points in class. As we are working in class, I have the spread sheet displayed on one of the screens in my room and add points as students complete activities. It has kept them more engaged and has encouraged them to work with their partners and to work to lift their partners up to a high level of understanding, because in the end they all benefit from each other's successes! Hope this helps your review week be effective and memorable!

LangLadies of iPoP

In Pursuit of Proficiency

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page